Purple Light Nights – Sonya Felice Jenkins

Welcome to another edition of Purple Light Nights, a place to spotlight writers of erotica. We will have intimate conversations about sex, love and writing about it. Today our guest is Sonya Felice Jenkins, author of the “Once In A Lifetime Love” Series. Let’s do this.

Sonya Jenkins
© Sonya Felice Jenkins Used with permission

LL: How did you get into writing erotic tales?

SFJ: I got into writing erotica tales as a way of expressing my sexual desires for a now ex-fiancé. He and I were in a long-distance relationship for many years. We tried to spend as much time together as we could, and the times we weren’t able to be together, I would try to verbally express what I was feeling sexually for him, for which, I didn’t do a great job of doing at the time; so, one day I sat down and wrote out what I wanted to say and do to him; much to both of our delights.

So, from that point on, I would write out all of my fantasies and/or all the precious moments of when we both felt sexually adventurous. (Did I mention he’s a writer as well.) Over the years, I just compiled all of the tales (stories) as my own personal keepsakes until one day, two of my friends got hold of them, read them and suggested that I should publish my stories and share with the world.

LL: Do you put a little of yourself in your characters?

SFJ: Actually, I put a little of myself and a few of my closest friends in to all of my characters.

LL: How do you do your research?

SFJ: I really don’t do any intense research at all. I basically just recall some of my experiences and I listen real closely and carefully when my friends, acquaintance as well as strangers share some of their sexual exploits/adventures. And of course, I get creative to make the stories stand out.

LL: Tell us about “Once In A Lifetime Love” and who or what inspired you to write the series?

SFJ: “Once In A Lifetime Love” series are a collection of short erotic stories and romanticSonya Jenkins 3 poetry. Each short story follows couples of long-term relationships, couples who met by chance, and best friends who became lovers. Within the stories there are pure passionate moments, down and dirty lustful moments, over-the-top-can’t-believe-they-did-that moments, and the who-does-that moments.

As I previously mentioned, the series was inspired by my now debunked relationship as well as my other past relationships including some of those from friends and acquaintances.

LL: Do you ever get negative or unwanted attention because of the genre you have chosen? How do you deal with it?

SFJ: I guess you can say, I have gotten a few negative reviews in regard to my books; at first it did hurt because I was so new to the industry, but over time, I have learned to let it go and understand that not everyone is going to want to read and/or enjoy your creations.

However, regarding meeting people, I usually let my intuition guide me, because, when I do mention I have two published books and give a brief synopsis, most people show interest in wanting to read them, others just don’t know what to say or how to be around me.

LL: Who is the one writer that has influenced you the most in the genre and what is your favorite work by them?

SFJ: The one author who has influenced me the most is the incomparable Zane. I love all of her bodies of work. Zane has several books that are anthologies of new aspiring authors of erotica and a few books of her own that are compiled of short erotic stories, which I kinda used a blueprint for my books.

LL: What is your take on how many sex scenes to include in a novel? Can there be too many?

SFJ: My take on how many sex scenes to include in a novel depends on the flow of the story within the chapters. In this genre, I think it is almost expected to have a lot of sex scenes. No, there can never be too many sex scenes.

LL: What is your ultimate goal for your writing?

SFJ: My main ultimate goal for my writing is to leave something behind for my family and friends to be proud of for years to come; the other ultimate goal is to have one of the short stories turned into a screenplay for either the big screen or for an X-rated stage play.

LL: What is your favorite sex position to write about in your novels?

SFJ: Oh, this is a tough question to answer because, I have a few favorites, but I do try to mix it up depending on the characters; Nonetheless I would say couples performing oral sex in the show is right up there at the top of the list of my favorites.

LL: Are you a fan of toys?

SFJ: Am I fan of toys, the answer is yes.

LL: What is your favorite sub-genre of erotica to read?

SFJ: I really don’t have a favorite sub-genre of erotica to read. I do try to be open minded to all kinds of erotica.

LL: When does the kink go too far in your opinion?

SFJ: In my opinion, when kink goes too far is when there is a death or serious bodily harm to the person.

LL: Describe your writing process?

SFJ: I would describe my writing process as follows; part of a scene comes to mind in either a dream or while sitting quietly, then I sketch it out, leave it alone for a few days/weeks, and come back to it to build upon.

Next, I start writing out the characters names, and physical descriptions; and finally, I put all the pieces together to begin the story. My poems are different, they usually come to me in a dream.

LL: What’s next on the agenda for you?

SFJ: What’s next on the agenda for me is to close out the Once In A Lifetime Love series with book 3, entitled “Once In A Lifetime Love 3: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly Side of Love.”

After, this book is completed, there are four other books that also need to be completed. I’ve started working on them but the flow of the stories wasn’t what I wanted so I put them to the side until a creative light bulb of ideas goes off in my head, not sure if these will be a full novel or a novella or perhaps just short stories to contribute to anthologies.

***Bonus Question***

LL: Have you ever been so turned on by a scene you are writing that you needed to stop writing to take care of business?

SFJ: Honestly, no I haven’t. However, depending on the scene I’m writing and is reminiscent of my own personal experience, it will make me nostalgic of the awesomeness of the time long gone by.

Bio

Sonya Jenkins2
© Sonya Felice Jenkins Used with permission

Sonya Felice Jenkins, former model, former professional singer/songwriter, professional and corporate certified trainer, life coach, mentor, entrepreneur, host of the Internet radio show, “Raven’s Closet Talk Show,” and now a published author.

 Stepping from out of the spotlight now going behind the scenes is where she feels the most comfortable. Writing took hold of Sonya in high school and refused to let go, but the creativity and imagination has always been a big part of who she is and how she had been able to adapt and thrive in various industries over her personal and professional life.

 Sonya graduated with an Associates’ Degree from Essex County College where she made the Dean’s list twice before graduating. Owner of Life’s  Puzzle Pieces, LLC. and Reaching Prosperity Management. A serious lover of various music/movies/books and various television shows, interests in various hobbies and lives in Northern New Jersey.

Social Media

Twitter: @authorsonyafj

Instagram: @authorsonyafjenkins

Website: sonyafjenkins.wix.com

To purchase Sonya’s books click here.

Leave a comment